The Low Down

I managed to survive my first week of back to work. Surprisingly, I wasn’t nervous or anxious about being back in front of a group of 11-13 year olds.  I must’ve been going on adrenaline during the week because I fell asleep hard while nursing W for bedtime.  I’m exhausted that’s for sure!

As for W and daycare, by Day 2, she had it figures out that she wasn’t going to be staying with me for the day.  Here’s what it looked like:

Day 1 – she cried when we got into the daycare home 

Day 2 – she cried when we got into the neighbourhood

Days 3-5 – she cried even before we left the our house 

Despite the tears, there are many moments of progress. For example, on one day, she slept straight from 12:30-2:30. She usually wakes halfway through her nap.  Also, she doesn’t cry as much anymore when she’s there. Her eating is hot and miss.  It depends on what the food is. 

At home, we’ve definitely seen developments.  Lately, W has been wanting to self-feed.  This morning, for example, she fed herself most of the Rice Krispies and milk.  The key is the food has to be able to sit in a spoon and the spoon has to be the right length.  She’s so happy when she feeds herself. I might have to help her every so often but she’s content to sit and eat in her high chair in the kitchen while I prep food. 


W just fell asleep in the car.  We were on our way home from grocery shopping, hoping to nap her in the car.  I guess she’s eaten her fill for lunch while we are the store.  She ate grapes, freeze dried bananas and Nesquick chocolate corn cereal. She’s been munching since we left the house basically.  

I love how her face looks so relaxed.  Not sure what we’ll do.  By the time we drive home and get there, she might wake up when I take her out and not be able to go back to sleep.  So we might end up driving around. It’s a good thing we have some food while we’re driving. 

Leave a Reply

