March Break

The other day, Z comes home with a phone number written on a small piece of paper torn from the corner of a larger piece.  He wanted me to call his friend, S, to set up a playdate this weekend.  It is so cute. In fact, I just got off the phone with S’s mom and she was under the impression that the kids have already set a playdate up.  So funny.  He’s going to be thrilled to hear that he’s going over to S’s house – apparently they might be playing Mario games.

That aside, things have been very hectic lately, despite being on March Break.  In my mind, I’m thinking, “It’s already Wednesday today.  I have to go back to work next week and W is still not completely healthy!” So, yeah, I am panicking a little bit inside.  I have not done any preparing, because I was told that my class lists are still not ready.  This was two days before the break began.  Yeah, talk about people being disorganized.  I’m just going to go in and have a super chill first day.  You know, get-to-know-each-other-kind-of-day.

Anyhow, about W, she’s still coughing – but significantly less.  She has missed five days of daycare so far.  This was not part of the plan.  Poor thing last night, she was coughing so much that she threw up twice.  Every time she catches her breath, she starts coughing again.  It was a rough night – lots of getting up and rocking her and even wearing her in the carrier.

We’ve been having a lot of just low-key activities since it’s been so cold out lately.  IKEA and mall visits and playing at home is the extent of our exciting times. V is also recovering from a cough.  The only people healthy are myself and Z really.  Even M has a cough.  

I still can’t believe that I’ve been home with W for 15 months. It really does not feel that long.   She has grown so much and is now a little person. Lately, she shakes her head no and nods for yes.  At night she points to her water bottle if she wants a drink.  She is able to take instructions and follow them.  My baby is growing up. In the above picture, she’s discovered she has eyelashes and was trying to pull at them. Funny.

PIn other areas, we’ve been making some changes to the house.  Nothing huge or costly, just tidying, organizing and decluttering.  Our most recent purchase is a kitchen island.  Yes, it does make the kitchen a little tighter but it also provides extra counter space that we are so short on in the first place. V love eating there as she did for breakfast. You can see she’s having her cup of tea, looking all serious. 

This march break feels different. I do miss Z.  When we’re all home during the day, Z is at school.  It seems unfair but somehow he’s learned to accept it. I know last year, when he was in grade one, he kept saying it was unfair that V was off and he wasn’t. Next year they will both be in school. 

 As for me next week, wish me luck. 

Leave a Reply

