Moving Out

W managed to stay awake for the whole ride to and back from Vs school. She’s been falling asleep on the way home all of last week.  It took a lot of effort to keep her awake – me encouraging V to talk to her and then giving her the car keys to keep her occupied.  The trouble is when she falls asleep in the car, it’s too early and she only sleeps for 35 min max.

Today, I might’ve kept her up a little too long.  For the past week, whenever W woke up in the wee hours of the morning, she would get all happy and start saying “Hi” to us repeatedly.  She sounds so enthusiastic it’s hard to get mad at her.  Because of our sleeping arrangement where I’ve created a side car with her crib, she  will literally climb over me to go between M and I. This might go on for half an hour to two hours.  When I get fed up, I ask M to take over and usually she will settle.

Last night, I thought to myself, ‘That’s it!  I’m moving W out of our room.  Maybe she won’t have a reason to wake up and play since we won’t be in her room.’  So, after rushing home from dropping V off school, I immediately go upstairs with W and start to rearrange and move furniture around to put her new room together.  I started around 9:25 am and it took me almost an hour.  I had to move the crib, which meant dismantling it and putting it back together.  I also moved her dresser and the rocking chair.  There were a few other things I had to move out of that room.  By the time I was done, sweat was pouring off my forehead and neck.  I think it was a good workout.

Tonight is her first night sleeping by herself and we’ll see how it goes.  Wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

