Hearty Breakfast

I love weekends.  But I love breakfast on weekends even more.  When else can you have French toast or home fries, eggs and bacon, or fried rice? Or steamed buns?

Last night I made steamed bun dough while M was out with his colleagues.  I re-steamed them this morning and it was a hit with all three kids!  But because M is gluten-free he couldn’t eat them. So I made Chinese Fried Rice.

Our household loves rice. We go through rice so quickly that I need to buy a 40-lb rice to make it last a long time.  Another thing we have is  a 10-cup rice cooker.  (I know what you are thinking – who eats 10 cups of rice?!?!)  Well, we do – but not in one sitting, obviously.  I like to make extra because you can always just microwave rice to reheat.  And if it gets stale, all the better to make fried rice with!  Also, when I make sushi rolls, I go through a lot of rice so it’s better to cook it in the rice cooker.

Whenever I am cooking, one of the kids ends up wanting to help.  This morning, it was Z. So I made him don an apron and stir-fry rice in a wok.  Here’s how we made it.

Chinese Fried Rice

Ingredients:

  • 2 pcs Chinese Sausage
  • 2 pieces of green onions, chopped
  • 3 cups stale rice
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce 0r 3 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp veg or canola oil

Directions:

  1. Heat wok until smoking and add oil.
  2. Scramble eggs in the hot oil until cooked.
  3. Add a handful of green onions (or omit if you don’t like).
  4. Add Chinese Sausage and stir for about a minute.
  5. Toss in stale rice and cook, tossing to distribute the heat and ingredients evenly.
  6. Season with soy sauce and/or salt.
  7. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

