Breakfast Cups

I grew up eating rice – a LOT of it.  I’m talking three times a day.  Yeah.  So for me, when I immigrated to Canada and discovered that breakfast is cereal and milk, I cringed.  I gave it a try though.  It hurt my stomach – I don’t know if it’s the cold milk or just the milk itself.  But I wasn’t fond of cereal at all.  I would occasionally eat some favourites as a snack at night.  Cereal never sustained me.

Breakfast at our house in the mornings of school days are hectic.  The baby has four teeth so can’t eat bacon or certain cereals.  She likes yogurt, fruits, cheerios and sometimes bread.  Violet is a great eater.  She’ll eat almost anything you give her (it’s great).  Then, there’s Zander – so hard to please.  Oh, let’s not forget Michael, who is gluten-free.

Picture this.

Violet is sitting and eating quietly. Zander is half on and half off his chair.  He sits for a few minutes, gets up and wanders around – distracted by anything and everything.  Willow is screaming (because she doesn’t have words yet) and she doesn’t want to sit in the high chair anymore.  Then there’s me in the kitchen, whipping up breakfast or warming up lunches to go into thermos containers.  Michael is there helping.

The clock is ticking.  Zander needs to get ready for the van that picks him up at 7:25 am to drive him to school.  He knows this all too well but takes his time eating and getting dressed.  Then at the last minute, just before he steps out the door, he “needs something”.  Ugh.  Michael gets stressed out. Finally, Zander’s gone.  The house is a little calmer.

 

What do we eat for breakfast?  A variety of things.  It’s because we are foodies and we don’t like eating the same thing everyday. Here are some things we eat for breakfast on different days.

  • a bowl of rice, miso soup, natto (not for kids), miso scrambled eggs, and seaweed. (I know what you are thinking – that’s a lot of food!  Who has time for that?  Trust me.  I know.)
  •  toast and scrambled eggs or an omelette.
  • home fries, bacon, toast
  • pancakes (chocolate chip for kids) and oatmeal for adults
  • hotdogs (just boiled)
  • crepes with nutella, cheese, or sugar and cinnamon (but who has time to make crepes?!?)
  • savoury potato cups

So some tips for making breakfast go a little smoother.

  • Pre-scramble eggs and place in a mason jar by shaking it.  In the morning, heat your skillet, add butter and pour your egg.
  • Make rice during the day or the night before
  • Mix miso with water and place in mason jar. Heat in microwave in the morning.
  • Boil or steam potatoes for 20 min.  Then cut in wedges and skillet fry in the morning.
  • make crepes at night
  • While breakfast is being made, get kids to set table.  As well, take out lunch bags and place by the door.

So tonight, I had time and prepared savoury egg and potato cups for breakfast. I was going to use the oven to cook them in a muffin tin but decided to use the toaster instead. It is so much faster and uses less electricity.

Egg and Potato Cups

Grate pre boiled potatoes and add an egg and grated parmesan cheese.  Toss to combine, season with salt and pepper.  Add chopped bacon (optional).  Grate some more cheese on top.  Bake in toaster over for about 15 min at 375F.

(Note:  I didn’t have measurements because I just eyeballed everything.)

Alternately, you could also layer the grated potatoes, then the sliced bacon pieces, and top with an egg. Sprinkle with cheese.  Then bake the whole thing.

And there you have it, breakfast for tomorrow.

 

One thought on “Breakfast Cups

Comments are closed.